Skip to content

“Innate Happiness”- in love with the key of C-Minor

April 1, 2010

C-Minor

Ever since Beethoven’s 5th people associate grand scale things with the key of C-Minor. Rightly so. To me it strikes just the right cords, tugging at your tender heartstrings in just the right way.

Muse
Probably not much needs to be said about Muse (and no, I didn’t make my last name up…). Great Band and have been for a long time. Wonderful in concert. “Innate Happiness indeed.” One of my favorite songs, of course in C-Minor…

“Bliss”
Everything about you is how I wanna be
Your freedom comes naturally
Everything about you resonates happiness
Now I won’t settle for less

Give me all the peace and joy in your mind

Everything about you pains my envying
Your soul can’t hate anything
Everything about you is so easy to love
They’re watching you from above

Give me all the peace and joy in your mind
I want the peace and joy in your mind
Give me the peace and joy in your mind

Everything about you resonates happiness
Now I won’t settle for less

Give me all the peace and joy in your mind
I want the peace and joy in your mind
Give me the peace and joy in your mind

Clara Schumann

Clara Schumann ist probably still one of the many underrated women who was so instrumental in the course of music history.
While not quite getting the credit she truly deserves. Thanks to Mrs. Schumann it became standard for concert pianists to play their repertoire from memory- not from sheets…seems trivial now, but not only did she set a standard by raising the bar- she was also instrumental in introducing the work of Johannes Brahms to a bigger audience.

This is another great example of C-Minor.
The Schumanns were both genius composers- she was a touring virtuoso on top of that. I can only imagine the scale of the arguments these to composers must have had with each other…
That kind of love story should have been an Opera, but in their case life was more dramatic than Opera. I think I’ll get back to those two.

Scherzo, Opus 14 in C-Minor by Clara Schumann (13 September 1819 – 20 May 1896) Didn’t check who the pianist is here.

Again, born in the wrong century!! And C-Minor is BLISS.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

