Skip to content

मैं जानना चाहता हूँ.

August 26, 2010

Mai jaananaa chaahta hun.

Or any other of the 5000 ways of saying the same thing. (any student of French, Russian or Latin that dares to whine about grammar, should be made to study Hindi (and some Sanskrit just for good measure) just for a few weeks, they will love to get back to their subjonctive)

That’s what happens when you want to know, you know. Happy satsanging. (can I make that a verb?)

Good book for all the starseeds who insist nobody gave them a manual before deployment. You got one, trust me, you probably just said that you don’t need no stinkin’ manual. And then you sit there and cry.

Ask your Space Commander in charge for a swift kick in the backside (bear hug or passionate embrace, whatever it is you used to practice), you’ll remember the whys and dos of all things Ascension. Happy Ascension, folks, time to get with the program.
ET 101

Maybe I should add what the Sirians said this morning? (they come to the point quickly, now the Hathors loooooove a good, long speech) *wink*  Tired now, very tired.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Elmira permalink
    August 27, 2010 9:04 am

    Hi Irina,

    Just finished Ancient Wisdom, very interesting read, not all of it was new to me, but it all rings very true. ET 101 sounds like a good read too. “No stinkin’ manual before deployment” – hahaha, that’s one way of putting it. I take it the writings at the top of the page are Sanskrit ? I googled the writing beneath it and found references to India, Sai Babi and Hindi. Please let me know,I can’t take the suspense, I have to know!
    Oops, gonna watch the video now. ( videos don’t appear in the e-mail notification)

    Cheers
    Elmira

  2. August 27, 2010 11:33 am

    Elmira, you crack me up…hehe.

    Hm, it should be a simple “I want to know” (did that sentence get us into trouble before, or what?) in colloquial Hindi. (please don’t anybody get on my case about Urdu and so forth, I am really a bloody, bloody beginner, so have mercy…). I figured “I want to know” is a good motto, since you can “know” through a few avenues.

    Glad you liked the book, I loved it. I keep going back every time reading it, whenever Mr. Leadbeater annoys the bumblebees out of me… Or as another very wise woman (much love to her!), said: “I’m not sure I’d ever get over my allergy to ceremonial magick and theosophy, lol.” I find that Bessant works even for those with exactly those allergies…

    I really wished someone would do a contemporary job the way Bessant did it in her days, because reading the old guys gives me the creeps in terms of language and tone. You’re constantly digging through the overhead of language. A good lector is priceless, but then again these books have their own unique history.

  3. Elmira permalink
    August 27, 2010 6:26 pm

    Yes, I concur on that one – that book is in dire need to having to be rewritten to modernize and shorten the sentences somewhat for more clarity ( okay, look who’s talking here, just love the “ands” and “buts” and use em all the time! ). I’ll probably reread it too, to refresh my memory. Now, who is Mr, Leadbeater ?

    What made you want to study Hindu, since it’s so different from our language ? Better understanding of their culture, religion and music ? In the end it’s all about understanding ourselves so once we know, we can let go, isn’t it ? The more we grab and grasp, the poorer we seem to become, as the possessions become burdens and the knowledge risks becoming dogmas so we are destined to keep moving, flowing, letting go, opening up for all life has to offer, but we come empty-handed and we will leave empty-handed, taking the riches of life’s lessons in our soul.
    Sorry, don’t mean to sound depressing, just being philosophical and contemplative. I get that way when it’s way past my bedtime. OH well!

    Take care,
    Elmira

  4. August 27, 2010 6:58 pm

    Naah Elmira, that doesn’t sound depressing. You’re speaking to a cancer. You don’t know how much anguish a cancer is capable of wallowing in… That’s not depressing to me, that’s just thinking out loud and following a train of thought.

    I have had that Hindi/Sanskrit draw for close to a year but never bothered to follow it. Just being an interpreter- it means loving a challenge. I think. And that’s the problem. I really don’t need to think more.

    But, linguistically I need to feel something. Which one is easier for you to say? “Ik hou van jou”, or “I love you”? The English one probably slides off your tongue a bit quicker.
    In the end it really doesn’t matter anyway, if it’s there, it’s there, language doesn’t matter.

    Not sure where I’m going with this, but if I look at all that Sanskrit, when someone tries to describe just a simple term in Sanskrit- but it takes close to 2 pages in English to even come close- than it makes me want to understand them by feeling them. So, bit by bit some colloquial Hindi and maybe some Sanskrit, but I have no illusions.

    In the end, does it matter? Not at all. My grandma didn’t speak a single word of German, yet that doesn’t matter.

    But, things feel differently in every language. Good luck on telling the average German “ich liebe Dich” as liberally as most North Americans are used to…

    “Bewusstseinserweiterung” doesn’t sound so awesome to me- and I am an huge fan of poetry and art in my own language, I am salivating to get myself a Kindle/e-reader to be able to read more books in my own native language.
    But any remotely spiritual term just makes me gasp and cringe.

    It just feels differently in every language. In the other ways, hm, kind of a waste of time- telepathy isn’t really going to care whether you messed up the past perfect. But it’s part of life, I guess.

    Yet knowledge is key, knowledge is liberation, sets you free, conquers the fear. Or was that truth? Hm.
    Dogmas and agendas exist where knowledge and truth are scarce, when it is a dogma, it means there’s something missing, otherwise no need to make it a dogma, or someone uses dogma to keep us from knowledge and truth, someone has an agenda. Happens all the time. In that way return to source would be a neat idea.

    The only thing that makes me pause is the thought that we didn’t come empty handed. Every go-round down here (or elsewhere for that matter) taught us something (hopefully). We come here with drives, things we’d maybe want to do- and to get down to those and why we want to do those- that’s worthy the exploration. Didn’t we want to know? If we didn’t, we wouldn’t be here…

    Just my ramblings on a hot Friday evening in the middle of nowhere…
    Have a good night,
    Irina

  5. Elmira permalink
    August 29, 2010 2:36 pm

    “I love you” is definitely easier for me. English is the language in which I can express my emotions best. The reason for that is probably twofold: having lived in the USA during puberty and the fact that Dutch people aren’t really expressive in their emotions to begin with. “Doe maar normaal, dan doe je al gek genoeg” ( Just act normal, and you’ll be crazy enough as it is). I felt a pull once to learn Italian and I wish I could speak French better than I can. I lasted 1,5 years with the course in Italian and then I totally shut down because these folks wanted to us to learn all the tenses there are. My preferred way to learn a language is like a child: start with words and short sentences with the past tense and present tense and work from there. It goes naturally and you don’t even have to think about it anymore.

    Of course we don’t come empty-handed, you are very right about that, we have shitload of luggage that we bring, even those cute little babies that appear to have a “clean slate”. I was referring to material things, rather than the experiences carved into our souls.

    I understand what you mean with the German spiritual terms. It can sound kind of harsh and strict. I am okay with Dutch spiritual terms but that’s different, but for me the true poetry is found in the English language. Take for example “Every cloud has a silver lining”. In Dutch this translates roughly to “After rain comes sunshine”. Sounds very pragmatic and non-poetic to me, that last one.

    Good luck though with your linguistic studies!
    Take care,
    Elmira

Leave a Reply

