Skip to content

Variation on a Theme by Michael Jackson in G Major

August 29, 2010

Main theme taken from the bridge of Michael Jackson’s “Give In To Me” from the album “Dangerous”.

Not meant to be a duplication of “Give In To Me”, it was initially just a musical game of riddles late at night, meant to be a break, that turned into a funny exploration of “can we do this classic, dead serious style and practice octave runs, too, and ahem, this still sounds as if someone’s asking you to pass them the butter.”

The idea was to take the existing theme of the bridge in “Give In To Me” (“You and your friends were laughing at me and talk, but it’s okay, it’s okay. You won’t be laughing when I’m not around, but I gotta find some peace of mind.”) and build 3 new themes around the existing one and tie them together.

dynamics
Teacher. “And what does ƒƒ mean?”
Pupil (after mature deliberation). “Fump-Fump.”

Cartoon from Punch magazine October 6, 1920

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2010 5:49 pm

    Oooh this is lovely! I’ve always felt that song is so underestimated. I know it’s simple chords and all, but I just love it. What you have done with it is truly beautiful!

  2. August 30, 2010 6:52 pm

    Thank you, Niamh! I loved that song when it was first released as single. (I think it was never released as single in the US, only in Europe), I remember the excitement when the video was first shown during the Oprah Interview, gosh, the stunts I pulled to be allowed to stay up that late, hehehe.
    Wished he did more with Slash, the few times they performed together they just had fun, kicking garbage cans off the stage, hilarious.

  3. August 30, 2010 7:23 pm

    I guess I wasn’t really into Michael then so I wasn’t aware of it being released. But the video is beautiful too 🙂
    Yeah, they make a good team!!!

  4. August 30, 2010 8:33 pm

    They do look like they are enjoying themselves there. (Black or White though, not Give in to me)
    If that trash can was choreographed, it looks pretty spontaneous, that has cracked me up ever since.

  5. September 1, 2010 3:08 pm

    hahaha WOW they are on fire!!! What a fabulous performance 🙂

  6. Princess permalink
    September 28, 2010 3:37 pm

    Gotta share this one! On my way home today, a major highway was closed which forced me to detour through “da hood.” As I drove slowly due to children walking home from school, I was blaring The Jacksons’ “Can You Feel It.” As I approached, the children suddenly stopped playing, walking, and talking to grab their crotches and dance like Michael. Some began waving at me as joy took over their faces. It truly made my day! Michael’s love continues to bring light to the darkest places.

  7. September 28, 2010 4:02 pm

    Pretty cool, hehe! I think the boys and girl in “da hood” always “feel” it, just like he said.

    I love that whenever my little boy and I went up to a particular ride in the water park (the one that scares me to death…), the music would switch to Thriller! I saw other people scream down the tubes singing his music.

    I agree, light in dark places as that as well. Literally. ROFL.

Leave a Reply

