Skip to content

“Grown-ups never understand anything by themselves, and it is tiresome for children to be always and forever explaining things to them.” Le Petit Prince, Antoine de Saint Exupéry (the man with the last name that freaks out non-native speakers- every single time one hopes to get it right)

September 28, 2010

Just dancing around while making dinner (hungry child demanding “Coooooooooooorn annn cooooookie!” and watching the incredible sunset out of my window. With 500 birds on the wire, you could shoot a Hitchcock movie in my backyard when it’s time for the sun to do down.

My three cats don’t like it, they scram, maybe they remember the beautiful hawks flying by?
My big fluffy alpha-male sure goes and “makes like a tree.” (kitty forgot that inside the kitchen is a 3.5 year toddler who likes to pick him up- hm, toddler or hawks outside??)

The lyrics may seem depressing to some, but the song is just outstanding.

Good Morning Joan
Good morning Joan, now pick up your phone
It was bad but just a dream and you are remembered
Put on something pretty, go back to the city
In town the sky’s just space, no starlight in your face

Listen to Eve, she’s got stuff up her sleeve
To her there’s no excuse, you’ve gotta use before you get used
Or talk to Louise, she knows all about freezin’
She got lost in early May and now it’s December

I’d call on you if I could
If you were less like me, I would

Good morning Joan, did you wake up alone?
Did you dream you woke up happy with a phone book full of names?
Just forget about Mary, she says everything’s scary
She got locked inside her skin, get near her, she’ll drag you in

I’d call on you if I could
If you were less like me I would

Save you from this if I could
If you were less like me, God knows I would
Save you from this, spare us all this shit
But you’re all just like me, so I quit

My name is yours, can I sleep on your floor?
See, my heroes changed their minds and I lost my numbers

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Elmira permalink
    October 12, 2010 1:08 pm

    Hi Irina,

    What is it about us humans that the little glimpses into everyday life are appealing to read ?
    Is it because we recognize things and feel a bond, feel less alone in this galaxy. Music and dance, cheerfulness and a good book can make my day! Love the music and The Little Prince is one of my favorite books!

    Elmira

  2. October 12, 2010 1:27 pm

    I think, yes.

    People are people, we all seem to sweat the little stuff. I love going to my computer in the morning (when trying to throw the coffee into the right compartment, which isn’t easy when you’re sleep deprived and forgot your glasses) and letting the shuffle function pick a good song. Usually that sets me straight for the rest of the day, some simply good music.

    • Elmira permalink
      October 17, 2010 12:35 pm

      Simply good music, that is so very true. Found that that is even true for cats. I had to take my cat to the vet on friday and she just hates the car, she meows all the way. I decided to play the Michael Jackson CD for her. She meowed once more to show her strong disagreement about going to the vet but then she calmed down and looked up through the car windows, mostly quiet. Michael’s quiet songs relax me and my cat, how cute is that! She loves MJ too!

  3. October 17, 2010 2:08 pm

    Glad kitty calmed down!

    Unfortunately nothing calms my 3 lions, not even MJ and he is quite fond of miracles himself.
    But my cats are beyond miracles, I am afraid. He’ll just have to give the miracles to me, hehe.

    I was near deaf after driving across the US with three cats- and a toddler that insisted on listening to the soundtrack from “Cars” over and over and over again. *bangs head against steering wheel* . Here I blow my budget with gender neutral, creativity supporting Montessori dolls- and what does the child prefer???
    Disney. Who knew. Of course, Disney. Duh.

    “Get away from me with these wooden blocks and gimme the plastic that screams and blinks.” I tried.

Leave a Reply

