Skip to content

“De Nachtwacht”

October 19, 2010
night watch rembrandt de nachwacht De compagnie van Frans Banning Cocq.

"De compagnie van Frans Banning Cocq."

 

 

DER NACHTWAECHTER

Wache, mein Herz, wache.

Wache, mein Herz, so ich wache.

Wache, mein Herz, so still ich wache.

Wache, mein Herz, und ich wache.

Schlafe, mein Herz, schlafe.

Schlafe, mein Herz, und ich wache

Ueber Dich, manchmal mich,

die Nachtwache ich halte.

Dich zu sehen im Dunkel, im Licht

Und zu wachen mit Sanftheit,

Mit dem Mut, der ausbricht.

 

Mein Nachtwaechter laechelt,

versteh’ doch, wie soll ich da zu Schlafe kommen?
-©2010 Irina Hale, October 18, 2010; All Rights Reserved

 
Nightlight

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Elmira permalink
    October 20, 2010 1:01 pm

    Don’t know why but the combination of the Nachtwacht and your poem made me teary-eayed. Art speaks to the soul and somewhere, somewhere there is a spark of recognition, of knowing what needs to be known and letting go of old, unneeded luggage.
    Amazing how there are two very bright and light figures in the painting while everything else is so dark and musty. Symbolic.

    I went to the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam once, years ago, and touched the Nachtwacht, I wanted to know if you could feel the layers of paint that I saw. Immediately got reprimanded of course!

    Reminds me of a visit to the Louvre. I stood there staring at the Mona Lisa and her mysterious smile, thinking how TINY the painting was. Somehow I’d always imagined it much bigger. Next to it was a sign “Please do not take any pictures of the Mona Lisa”. A big group of Japanese tourists got their cameras out and started clicking away happily at the Mona Lisa. LOL!

    (I’m thinking of maybe starting a blog too, is it difficult to do ? Do you think anyone would be interested in my ramblings ?)

  2. October 20, 2010 1:18 pm

    Oh, I ran my poem through the automated google translator- hilarious, sounds like a Hallmark Card. Totally killed the poem. English doesn’t have a verb that equals to wake and to guard at the same time, in one word. I do love German for some of these nuances.

    There is something about the Nightwatch that makes people want to touch it’s many layers, isn’t there? I saw the painting as a 14 year old, or so. Can’t remember. I do remember though that I went to the Concertgebouw afterwards. I was high on art.

    I have funky memories of Amsterdam, “raised consciousness” through varies means (haha) and stared at a van Gogh painting for a couple of hours, amusing the heck out of my travel companion. (“well Irina, you’re really hearing the angels sing right now, don’t you??”) Well, what happens in Amsterdam, stays in Amsterdam, lol.

    Blog is easy, really! And yes, you’ll find people! Just be yourself!

Leave a Reply

