Skip to content

In Loving Honor of Michael J. Jackson: Requiem for Orchestra, Piano, Organ and Solo Voice

August 21, 2011

Ever since being a teenager, I have adored requiems.

So I set out to write one- in several movements. It’s not going to be your standard requiem…no kyrie…

And I have a serious obsession with woodwinds, I admit that right upfront. I might be alone with my adoration of the piccolo flute and the oboe- but oh well…

Requiem Narrator and Solo Voice leading through the stage production- based on the painting "Stardust" by Patrick Whelan, Whelan Galleries, no copyright infringement is intended, all pictures are property of their respective owners

Excerpt: In Loving Honor of Michael J. Jackson: Requiem for Orchestra, Piano, Organ and Solo Voice

1. Movement for Orchestra and Piano
____________________________________________________________________________________________________

2. Movement: The Oven Bird

by Robert Frost

There is a singer everyone has heard,

Loud, a mid-summer and a mid-wood bird,

Who makes the solid tree trunks sound again.

He says that leaves are old and that for flowers

Mid-summer is to spring as one to ten.

He says the early petal-fall is past

When pear and cherry bloom went down in showers

On sunny days a moment overcast;

And comes that other fall we name the fall.

He says the highway dust is over all.

The bird would cease and be as other birds

But that he knows in singing not to sing.

The question that he frames in all but words

Is what to make of a diminished thing.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________
3. Movement: Interlude for Orchestra, Solo Cello and Piano

____________________________________________________________________________________________________
4. Movement: Are You Listening?

by Michael Jackson (“Dancing The Dream”)

Are You Listening?” – by Michael Jackson

Who am I?

Who are you?

Where did we come from?

Where are we going?

What’s it all about?

Do you have the answers?

Immortality’s my game

From Bliss I came

In Bliss I am sustained

To Bliss I return

If you don’t know it now

It’s a shame

Are you listening?

____________________________________________________________________________________________________
5. Movement

(to follow…)

____________________________________________________________________________________________________
6. Movement For Solo Voice, Orchestra, Piano and Organ

Libera me, Domine, de morte æterna. Amen. Amen. Amen.

Lacrimosa dies illa,

qua resurget ex favilla

Judicandus homo reus.

Huic ergo parce, Deus. Amen. Amen. Amen.

Pie Iesu Domine,

Dona eis requiem.

Dona eis requiem. Amen. Amen.

Solita oscula-

ειρήνη υμιν (Eirene humin)

Amen. Amen. Amen.

Deliver me, Oh Lord, from death eternal. Amen. Amen. Amen.

Ah! that day of tears and mourning!

From the dust of earth returning

Man for judgment must prepare him;

Spare, O God, in mercy spare him! Amen. Amen. Amen.

Lord, all pitying, Jesus blest,

grant them thine eternal rest. Amen.Amen.

With [the customary] kisses,

Peace be unto you.

Amen. Amen. Amen.

Composition & Arrangement: Irina Hale

Cello, Piano and Vocals: Irina Hale

-©2011 Irina Hale, June 2011; All Rights Reserved

CLICK RIGHT HERE Click link in blue…
CLICK HERE for 5th Movement Intro Click link in blue…
Composition & Arrangement: Irina Hale
-©2011 Irina Hale, June 2011; All Rights Reserved

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Elmira permalink
    August 30, 2011 3:40 am

    Irina,

    you have such a gift of expressing yourself through music. I heard Michael’s life through the music you composed: a lullaby, music that reminded me of magic, Neverland and Peter Pan, a part that said feeling one with nature, but the organ music to me sounded like trials and tribulations and ultimately death. If I listen again I’ll probably hear other things too. Don’t know if it was intended that way, but that is what it made me think of.
    Just beautiful!

    Love and blessings to you!
    Elmira

  2. September 8, 2011 2:20 pm

    Elmira, thank you. It’s just the first movement, the opening. The final work will have spoken parts and more musical movements, some orchestral, another one piano/voice only. I don’t want to make it too long since I noticed that people space out with too long works. So I planned on the Requiem to be no longer then 15 minutes. Hopefully I get around to recording the rest, but singing with the flu is really not so cool, I got zero voice right now. Come one, vitamins, kick in. (I so wanted to have this recorded before the trial, well, I do have a few days left).
    Much peace and love to you, my friend!

Leave a Reply

